about ecuador

The Ecuador with 270.000 Km2 is one of the countries with major diversity of ecosystems of the world, this one placed on the equatorial line on the coast of Pacific Ocean of South America, borders to the north on Colombia, on the south on the south and eastwards on Peru and on the west on the Pacific Ocean.

Ecuador has three continental regions: The mountain chain of the Andes divides it in two: the coast, on the west, and the jungles of the Amazon, eastwards, known as East. The central mountains are of volcanic origin with 400 km approximately of length each one, it is known as the Avenue of the Volcanoes.
The islands Tortoise form the fourth region of the Ecuador, are located to approximately 1000 km from the coast, towards the west, in the equatorial line


The native aborigines of the Ecuador, as the Caras and the Shyris were conquered by the empire of the Incas proceeding from Peru. The year 1526 was important for the Ecuador because to the death of the king Inca, Huayna Cápac, He does not leave his empire a son like the tradition was marking, but to two Huascar de Cuzco and Atahualpa of Quito. In the same year the first Spanish came to the north of the Ecuador. The damaged situation between the children of Huayna Cápac deteriorate with the course of the years where war after war, Atahualpa of Quito defeat Huasca of Cuzco and Inca turned into the governing only one of the empire. Whereas the expansion of the Spanish supervised by Pizarro was rapid. At the end of 1532 one resolved a friendly meeting between Atahualpa and Pizarro, if seizure Atahualpa was kidnapped by the Spanish in order to ask for an incalculable quantity of gold for his rescue. Nevertheless of receiving the requested, Atahualpa was submitted to a false judgment and sentenced to death. Rumiñahui continued fighting against the Spanish and in 1534 He burn the city of Quito and to hide somewhere from the country the gold that even exceeds of the empire. Because of it another Spanish, Sebastian de Benalcazar found again the city of Quito on December 6, 1534.

From 1535 it began the colonial age under the Spanish oppression, where the life was passing of way comfortably for the leaders, whereas the aborigines was insulting.

After some attempts, the independence was obtained by Simon Bolivar and the Marshall Antonio Jose of Sucre on May 24, 1822 in battle of Tarquís.

Ecuador is a unitary republican democracy. At the moment the President is Economist Rafael Correa.

Despite being at altitudes beyond 2500 m, (8200 ft), above sea level, the proximity to the Equator makes the weather in Quito and the Central Highlands surprisingly comfortable all year around. The dry season is windy, and runs from July to October, with temperatures ranging from 21º C, (70º F) during the day to around 10º C, (50º F), at night. During the rest of the year, the temperatures are similar, but expect showers in the late afternoon.

On the coast, the temperature ranges from 30-35º C, (85-95º F) during the day. The dry season is from June to November, and it rains from December to May.

Ecuador has two official languages: Spanish and Quechua, the native language of the native communities. English is spoken in the majority of cities.
Ecuador is a rich country in cultural manifestations that it is possible to find them already be in the streets and squares or in the museums. The ceramics, paintings and sculptures show sound of the known school of arts of Quito of the time of the colony. The music and the theatre are elements that conjugate for to show the daily life of the Ecuadorians. The crafts are realized in the main by the indigenous to the country.
The currency of Ecuador is the United States Dollar. Other currencies can be exchanged at a bank or "Casa de Cambios".
tourist visa
Visitors can stay up to 90 days with a tourist VISA
airport tax
For anyone leaving the country, there is a tax fee leaving from Quito $31.60 and from Guayaquil $31.60.